Protecting My Sanity

by misglitter

There are complications with my boyfriend’s passing, the most complicated being his family. They’re crazy – plain and simple.

I mentioned the dog my boyfriend and I had together in my first post. Since his passing, his mother has wanted nothing other than our dog. The dog is licensed in my name and one of the most important things in my life. I will never let anyone have her without a fight.

Multiple times before his death, my boyfriend made me promise if anything ever happened to him, I wouldn’t let his mom have the dog. At the time, it seemed inconsequential, but now I wish I would have taken comments like that as a warning flag. Hindsight is always 20/20.

When he passed away, his mom took the dog for a few weeks. She then began “letting” me visit with her for a few days at a time. During this time, I graduated from college and his mom “gave” me my dog as my graduation gift. After having my dog for a couple weeks in a row, my boyfriend’s mom made a comment along the lines of, “It’s a good thing I don’t have that dog right now, because I would get in the car and not tell anyone where we were going.” Needless to say, I made the decision then and there that I was never going to risk losing my dog to anyone.

My public story skims the surface of my reality. There is much more to the situation than I a.) care to rehash and b.) care to make public. I will say though, lots of hurtful accusations were made by his family. It was making it nearly impossible for me to grieve in a healthy way, and it was all because I had the dog.

My boyfriend’s mom started showing up at the house I shared with my boyfriend as well as my dad’s house, which was over three hours away from my boyfriend’s mom’s. She was looking for the dog. I called the detective working my boyfriend’s case to seek advice. He filled me in on some interesting details.

Apparently my boyfriend’s mom’s biggest concern is that his best friend and best friend’s girlfriend worship Satan and use their cat in their demonic rituals. She is extremely concerned that we are going to sacrifice the dog in an attempt to bring my boyfriend’s soul back to Earth. When the detective told me this, all I could do was laugh. Out of all of the accusations and stories she had come up with, this blew them out of the water.

The detective suggested having my lawyer send her a letter stating my intentions to keep the dog and to ask her to discontinue all attempts of contacting me. He also suggested I get a personal protection order against her. I did both, and luckily I haven’t heard from anyone in the family since then.

It’s times like these when I am most angry at him. I’m so angry he left me here to deal with this on my own. I still cry every day, and it’s been over three months. When I drive in my car late at night, I scream at the top of my lungs, I punch my steering wheel and I cry. The confusion in my head is nearly as bad as the pain in my heart.

Tomorrow, I leave for the West Coast. I can’t wait for a fresh start.

