Burning

by misglitter

As I sat in a training workshop today I was asked to close my eyes and visualize what poverty is … what it looks like, smells like, tastes like. As I shut my eyes, instead of picturing poverty I only saw colors, swirling and moving to the music playing in the background. The colors took the shape of a human body and it danced so joyfully. The colors continued to change and morph in a melodic pattern and they moved so beautifully. I was overcome with such a sense of happiness as I watched the form jump and twirl with no inhibitions. And then I saw my boyfriend’s face. Not in detail, but I FELT it. I knew it was him.

These things sound crazy to say, but it’s true. It was like in a dream when everything around you is unfamiliar and illogical, yet you KNOW where you are. You don’t know how or why you know, but you know it to be true. That’s what I felt as I watched that shape skim the surface of the nothingness it moved across. I knew it was him, swirling in all his rainbow glory with nothing held back.

I won’t try to analyze it or make sense of it, but I will just take it as an experience and go from there.

