Chicken Noodle Soup and Haunted Houses

by misglitter

This time of year makes me miss my boyfriend so much. Last October, our relationship was really just starting and blossoming and such a beautiful thing. It still seemed all so new, and while I loved the comfort I grew to have with him, it’s always exciting in the beginning.

Right around this time last year we woke up early one Sunday and walked to the Farmers Market together. He always liked to brag about his cooking skills and said any woman who wanted to impress him had better know how to cook. Lucky for him I come from a family of bomb cooks and love to be in the kitchen. We got a whole chicken, lots of veggies and apple cider smoothies. That night I roasted a delicious chicken, but of course we couldn’t finish it all. The next day I used the leftover chicken to make chicken noodle soup with him. I don’t know why, but the times we spent together in the kitchen are some of my fondest memories with him.

I made chicken noodle soup today for the first time since he died. Everything about it reminded me of him. I kept waiting for him to come up behind me and slide his big hands around my waist and nuzzle into my neck and hair. For him to say, “Daaaaamn Baby! My woman can cook!” For him to tickle me to the ground, which happened many times at Montie, and let’s be honest, that’s not a ground you really wanna lay on.

We used to have dinner together every night after the gym. We’d watch Say Yes to the Dress (he’d be so pissed if he knew I made that public knowledge), eat and drink wine. I’d curl up on his giant chest and just be so content with life.

Another one of my favorite memories with him was the night we drove over an hour to go to the haunted houses in my hometown. They were hands down the best haunted houses in the entire state of Michigan and totally worth the drive. I don’t remember what we did earlier in the night, but I do know I introduced him to one of my best friends from home, Scott. We went to an awesome little bar in Ypsilanti, had a few beers and chatted about metal. I loved that the two of them hit it off, and in the following months I came to find he really loved all my friends. That meant so much to me.

After a few beers we went to the orchard. Seeing him scream and run like a little kid made my night. There were a couple date parties there, so not only were the attractions entertaining, so were the drunk girls barefoot in the bathroom despite it being 40 degrees and muddy. After hitting every haunted house, hayride and maze, we went to the store. I still have the honey mustard we bought, which we ate on my roast chicken. I know I should throw it away, but it’s so hard to let go of the small reminders.

My little sister went to said haunted houses tonight. I told her I was jealous, which I am, but if I had the choice, I don’t think I could go back. That was one of our first adventures together and it’d be so damn hard going back without him. That night was incredibly special for me.

I miss him more than words can express. I miss my partner, my right hand man, my sidekick, my companion, my lover, my fighter, my cuddler, my backup, my security, my best friend. I miss the life we had.

